Our Progress

States That Have A Single Subject Provision In Their State Constitution

This United States map provides a guide to the forty-one states (in blue) that have a single subject provision in their respective state constitution and to the nine states (in dark gray) without such provision, specifically, Arkansas, Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

See Map

Florida House Memorial 261

A memorial to the Congress of the United States, applying to Congress to call a convention for the purpose of proposing an amendment to the Constitution of the United States to provide that every law enacted by Congress shall embrace only one subject that shall be clearly expressed in its title.

Read House Memorial 261

Congressional Joint Resolution

At the request of Single Subject Amendment, H.J.Res. 40 was introduced in the U. S. House of Representatives by Congressman Tom Marino on March 26, 2015.

See the Joint Resolution